Do you want to know my dirty little secret?

Feb 2010 038I have a messy
kitchen.  I have tried to keep this to myself
for years but now that I let the cat out of the bag, I feel kind of liberated.  I have tried to clean as I go but it just doesn’t
happen. The thing is I am like a mad painter
in my kitchen.  When I start cooking I pull
out all my ingredients and then everything starts to spread out like spilled
milk. I’ve always got the radio on, the kids are bugging me for snacks, the dog
is under foot but somehow all this chaos inspires me. 

I
shamefully admit that I am often cooking more than one meal at a time.  Why, you might ask.  Because I am a picky vegetarian and I like
beans.  Nobody else in my family will eat
them so I make them a revolving menu of pasta, pizza, chicken, fish and
meat.  While I am cooking them their foods,
I create wonderful meals with spinach and pears and nuts and chickpeas and
pinto beans.  I make homemade salsa and
carrot soup, salad dressings and smoothies. 
I also make the biggest mess you can possibly imagine.

March 10, 2010 018I think
some people are just neater than others. 
It used to bother me a lot that I wasn’t that neat.  I clean up but not right away.  After I’ve created something in the kitchen I
usually just want to take it all in, so I let it all sit.  Luckily for me I married the perfect guy.  My husband doesn’t cook but will gladly clean
up any kitchen mess I create.

Cooking
homemade meals is really one of my biggest tips for healthy eating.  It is impossible to eat right if you don’t know
what goes in your food and subsequently into your body.  It’s really hard to control sodium and
saturated fat in restaurant food because it is used so liberally to flavor it.
The same thing goes for take-out and already made meals.  It’s okay once in a while to enjoy a meal
that you didn’t prepare.  Just don’t make
it a habit.

March 10, 2010 039Knowing
that I have the luxury of making a giant mess and someone else will clean it up
is my motivation for making regular home cooked meals.  What’s yours?

3 thoughts on “Do you want to know my dirty little secret?

  1. I am the exact same way! If I make a sandwich, I leave all the ingredients out/open on the counter and can’t be bothered to put them away until after I eat. Glad to know I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

