Free Food!

I live near an IGA.I  have been told that supposedly it's the
most expensive supermarket in the Greater Montreal area.  I do not know if it is true but whenever I go
to
Loblaws I generally go $100 over budget. 
I figure it is best to stick with my local supermarket than venture too far out of my way.  The further I go, the more money I spend or
so it seems.

Anyway, I find it thrilling that the IGA gives
away free food every week.  Okay, maybe
it's not really free you have to spend $70 first.  I usually end up with 2 or 3 free items a
week depending on my grocery bill.   The
most exciting items given away over the last year, for me, were the Starbucks
coffee, all purpose natural cleaner and dark chocolate. However, my friends
seem to think the
Lindt Petits Desserts they gave away earlier this month
ruled.  Nobody cared when I pointed out
the Trans fat in them.  They gobbled them
up and snubbed my warning instead.

They do give out a ton of free fruits and
vegetables.  A few weeks ago it was broccoli
followed the next week by cauliflower. 
The broccoli was easy to steam and serve but I had so much cauliflower I
didn't know what to do with it.  I used
one head to make an Indian inspired dish and then I posted on
Twitter and
Facebook for suggestions on what to do with the rest.  The peeps who responded suggested I roast the
cauliflower and serve it as is. 
 I tried it.  I drizzled the cauliflower pieces with olive
oil and pepper and baked it at 400°F for about 20 minutes.  I took it out and tasted it and it did not
excite me so I put it in a container and left it the fridge Richard just told
me he ate it heated up with cold hummus. 
He said it was great.  But, this
comes from a man who would eat
Alpo heated up and served in a bowl. 

April 2010 001 I decided to make a soup with the 2 heads I had
left.  I checked some cookbooks and some
online sites just to see what the main ingredients are.  It seems that cauliflower goes well with leeks
and curry.  I started off my soup as I
start off all my recipes, sautéing onions and garlic in canola oil.  I added sliced leeks and when they were
translucent I added chunks of cauliflower,
sweet potato, vegetarian broth and
water.  I boiled it and brought it to a
simmer for about an hour.  Then I
realized I forgot to roast the curry (by adding it to the onion and garlic sauté)
so I heated a tablespoon of olive oil over medium low in a separate pan.  I added the curry and roasted it for about 3
minutes.  I knew it was ready when the
curry filled my kitchen with an exotic aroma. 
I added it to my pot and then pureed the soup.  Finally, I tasted it and felt it was missing
something.  I added some freshly ground
ginger and some pepper.  The result?
Perfection!  Basically, I created this
soup with an intuition that the ingredients would go well together.  I can honestly say I have never made a
cauliflower soup before.  It was fun and
satisfying to use up this free cauliflower and for it not going to waste.  Can't wait to see what they give out this
week!

 

One thought on “Free Food!

  1. another use for cauliflower: steam it and then mash it with fried onions, salt & pepper. i did this last week and when I fried the onions, i used very little oil and added some water to the onions to carmelize them. my husband looooved it. i think I have to invite you over for roasted cauliflower……

Leave a Reply

