Friday Finds: Sweet Revenge


April 2010 002 
It is no secret that I can’t bake.  I would prefer to eat home baked goods and
give them to my kids for snacks instead of all that processed crap.  But, it really pains me to bake.  That’s my dilemma, until recently.  About 6 weeks ago I got an email from a friend
of friend telling me about her friend’s new business.  It is called Sweet Revenge and it's a locally owned business which is great because I like supporting local ventures. Basically, every
two weeks they bake up a storm and then deliver delicious organic goods to a
few drop-off places around the city.  Brilliant,
I thought, sign me up.  The only caveat
is you get whatever they are baking that week. 
You do not have a choice. 


April 2010 006 
I admit I am not much of a risk taker but I figured how
bad can this be?  Someone else is doing
the baking and they are using wholesome ingredients so why not?  For $10 I get a brown bag filled with 6
items.  For an extra $4 I get a dozen
chocolate chip
flaxseed
cookies. This is the only item that is a constant on their menu.  Over the last 6 weeks I have received maple
and walnut muffins, raisin oatmeal cookies, date and cottage cheese buns
(delicious toasted and eaten with cheese) spice loaf, apple-strawberry crisp,
brownies and other stuff I am forgetting. As you can see from the ingredients
there are no preservatives so if you are not going to eat them right away, you
can toss them in the freezer.  With each order you will receive a printout of the ingredients.  The printout does not contain a nutrition label with serving size, calories, fat, sugar, protein, vitamins and minerals.

Remember, these are treats!  Just because they are homemade doesn’t mean
you can eat as much as you want.  They
still have calories and if you are watching your weight you need to consider
this.  They certainly are a better choice
than Rice Krispie Squares or a Trans fat bar I mean a snack bar. I must mention
that portion sizes for these items are smaller than what you will expect.  However, they are appropriately sized for
healthy eating purposes.  Starbuck’s
sized foods they are not.  I guess you
can have your cake and eat it too?!  


Leave a Reply

