Friday Finds: Spelt with Red Pepper


June 2010 029
I swear I do not work for Loblaws.  I guess the Blue Menu stuff really appeals to
me and they have a ton of new products. 
I thought this spelt one looked good. I was wrong.  To be fair, I have never eaten spelt
before.  Spelt is a whole grain and whole
grains are good for us. 

Nutritionally speaking, the ingredients read well.  The food label indicates 4g of fiber per
serving of 170 calories, not bad.
  It’s
not too high in sodium and there is not much sugar. 

June 2010 032
 
 


June 2010 031I knew I was in trouble when I opened the flavour sack and
it smelled like cheese. Yuck KD flavoured spelt.  I added about 3 cups of water to a medium
sized pot just like it said and then dumped in both pouches.  I brought it to a boil and then simmered it
over medium for 20 minutes.  The spelt
became engorged with water and the sauce thickened.  I removed it from the stove and let it stand
for 5 minutes.  It wasn’t pretty.  In fact, it looked nothing like the
picture.  The food designers who set up
the picture on the box deserve an award. 
My concoction looked ugly and unappetizing, kind of like a pan full of maggots.  It tasted ok-ish but I wouldn’t buy it
again. 


June 2010 036
 
There has got to be a better way to eat spelt.  Does anyone know of any products or recipes?


June 2010 043
 

 

 

Leave a Reply

