Friday Finds: Dessert Par Angela


July 2010 087
I was picking up some fruit
and vegetables at the local Fruiterie in deep Cote Saint Luc with my son Trevor
the other day.  Whenever we go in there,
he wants a chocolate chip muffin because his mother never bakes anything.  We were looking through the selection when I
came upon a new flavor zucchini, carrot and pineapple.  I picked it up and saw that it wasn't a house
muffin it was from a new supplier called Dessert Par Angela.  I looked at the ingredients and found them to
be what I would deem homemade.  I bought
a few of these muffins and ate one when I got home.  It was very moist, dense and with a hint of
sweetness.  All what you would expect
from a muffin made with whole wheat flour, fruit, vegetables and sweetened with
a bit of fruit juice and baked with a relatively small amount of oil.  In my opinion, this was a perfect
muffin. (Sorry no picture I ate it before I thought to photograph it)


July 2010 122
I tracked Angela down to a
small storefront in
Outremont.  It turns out this is the same Angela formerly
of Eatz Encore in
Westmount.  What intrigued me most about Angela is how
she created most of her recipes from scratch. 
In fact, they aren't even written down. 
She just knows how it goes. 
Baking is a science and generally speaking recipes are necessary to
create a fabulous end product.  It takes
some serious talent to bake without recipes. 
Angela said she wanted to make baked goods with healthy ingredients like
whole wheat flour.  She basically
experimented until she figured out which ingredients work well together.  It took a lot of patience and a lot of trial
and error.


July 2010 086
What I found in her store
was a plethora of home baked goodies and wonderful homemade salads.  I brought home a just out of the oven banana
chocolate chip loaf to Trevor's delight. 
I had to stop him from eating the entire thing.  Jason doesn't love chocolate (very weird) so he enjoyed the apricot-cranberry
cookie instead. 

Angela makes several fresh
salads every morning for the lunch crowd. 
I sampled the carrot-raisin, coleslaw and potato salad which I enjoyed
with my veggie hot-dog for supper.  I
picked up some cream cheese brownies, carrot cake and pecan pie.  Apparently, Angela specializes in pies but
was all sold out of the fruit ones by the time I got there.  I put those treats into the freezer to enjoy
at a later date with Richard or whoever might drop by.  Hint.


July 2010 105
Here's the thing, since I
hate baking but know I should provide my kids with wholesome treats in their
lunch box, this the alternative.  I am
happy to let someone else do the baking and include it in my weekly grocery
budget.  I would rather use my time to
focus on home cooked meals.  Angela's
treats are kid friendly and very traditional. 
However, if you prefer non-traditional, organic, and are not picky about
what you get perhaps you might like the folks at
Sweet Revenge. I do both.  I get a delivery every two weeks from those
guys and I supplement with baked good from Angela's.  Just remember these are treats.  Portion size is important and moderation is
the key. 


July 2010 093To get in touch with Sweet
Revenge click here. Angela delivers to 5 Saisons in Westmount, National in
Westmount, The Verdun Hospital, Quality Fruits in Cote Saint Luc or you can
drop by her store in Outremont at 1570 Van Horne.

One thought on “Friday Finds: Dessert Par Angela

  1. I sampled one of Angela’s cakes thanks to Caryn. It was cranberry with maybe apricot? It was amazing! I had to stop myself from eating the whole thing!!! Ill forsure consider going to Angela’s bakery the next time I’m expected to bring a special treat to an event. AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

