Ernie’s Success Story

I have a friend that I have known since kindergarten. Let’s call him Ernie.  As long as I have known Ernie, he has been on the pudgy side.  He was never obese but could always stand to lose a few pounds.

Earlier this year he started asking me nutrition questions.  He would call me, text me, email me and I started to realize that he was serious about changing his eating habits. Ernie is a bachelor and lives alone.  He didn’t used to cook for himself .  I am not really sure how he ate.  All I know is he had an epiphany and new he needed to make some changes. He was always semi active with golf, tennis and skiing but he suffered from back issues.  If his back was out then he was not active at all.  Since losing over 20 pounds his back is better and he enjoyed a lot of tennis this summer.  Actually, he is now active at least 5 times a week!

Ernie made and continues to make small dietary changes.  Each change that he makes is something that is manageable for him.  For example, he switched from white refined pasta to whole wheat.  He did the same for all breads and other grains like rice. He believes one of his keys to success was cutting out all refined processed white foods. Whole grain is more satiating than white resulting in less calories consumed which leads to weight loss.

Ernie started to scrutinize his portions.  This was a significant step in reducing his calories. Ernie started cooking more and learning how to prepare food in a healthier way.  He had a few cooking disasters along the way like burnt sweet potato fries but that is part of the learning process.  Cooking mistakes always lead to greater success later on.

I guess the biggest change that Ernie made was developing an awareness of what he put in his mouth.  I don’t think he ever thought much about it before.  He was at my house over the weekend and it got to be supper time but he didn’t want to eat with us because he was expected at his parent’s house for supper.  I could tell he was hungry and Richard offered him some homemade wrap pizza he had just made.  Ernie took 3 small slices equivalent to one bread serving just to tide him over.  In the past, he probably would have eaten a lot more at our house and then gone for supper anyway.

Why is Ernie so successful?  You can read about all of his changes here in his own words. But, in my opinion the reason he doing so well is simply because he was ready!

Leave a Reply

