Food of the Gods

I was at the health food store the other day picking up some moisturizer and while waiting in line I spied a bag of chocolate.  I thought to myself, what can I use this for?  I’ve been baking a lot lately and thought maybe they would go well in some chocolate chips cookies.  I brought the bag to the cash and the girl asked me what I planned on doing with them.  I said maybe baking and then she warned me of their bitter taste.

Being the type of person who needs instant gratification, I got into the car and ripped the bag open.  I grabbed a few nuggets of what is supposed to be the food of the gods and tasted it.  I nearly spit it out.  I wondered how the connection was made that this stuff could be combined with other ingredients to make it heavenly.  Chocolate in it’s raw form tastes  well, ick.  However, The mouth feel of raw chocolate is exceptional.  It’s crunchy with the right amount of smoothness.  But it does taste very bitter.

Some experts believe this a superfood.  I think if you like chocolate it might be fun to experiment with raw cocoa.  I have been adding about a tablespoon to my oatmeal.  I also add frozen blueberries and cinnamon.  I find this combination very flavorful.   I also tried it in my tea.  I added about a teaspoon of the raw cocoa to my tea bag along with some very aromatic rooibos leaves.  The cocoa gave a nice subtle yet surprisingly non-bitter flavor.

Sometimes trying something new even for a short period of time has it’s benefits.   I am not sure I will re-buy this again or even put it in a cookie dough batter.  All I know is that I had to try it.  I was curious about this power food and now I know what it is like.   I am enjoying it in my oatmeal and will likely finish the bag.

2 thoughts on “Food of the Gods

Leave a Reply

