Cholesterol Commercial Rant

I was watching TV the other day and I came across a commercial for high cholesterol. There was a man who reported having high cholesterol and then he bungie jumped off a bridge.  I don’t remember if it was a commercial for a drug or a food product.  I am stuck on the bungie jumping of a relatively healthy looking fit guy.  Why are the actors for cholesterol commercials always physically fit?

I saw another commercial last week for some beverage that one can drink in order to control high cholesterol.  The commercial claims that plant sterols in this product can reduce the bad cholesterol in your body.  Again, the actor drinking it was physically fit. Cholesterol lowering margarine has been on the market for quite some time but was not allowed in Canada for years.  I believe it was because this type of food or nutraceutical as some call it acts like a drug!!  That is why I am surprised this so called “beverage” is allowed to be sold.  I saw it at the super market today.

I am concerned about this product because it sounds like medication.  Is it safe for people to be self medicating with franken-food?  What if a person stops taking their medication in lieu of this drink because they think it is natural?  There are nutrition related guidelines that involve real healthy foods not plant sterols in a bottle. For somemedication coupled with a healthy diet does the trick.  For others they can achieve results just with food. There has been a lot of research done on diet and cholesterol.  New findings suggest it is the sugar we eat that is the culprit.  So, I really can’t believe this product. Everyday, I am amazed at the power of marketing.

Leave a Reply

