The New Kid on the Blog – Blueberry Salmon

Hey all!

I’m Diane and I’ll be guest blogging here for the summer! Check out the blurb I left on Montreal Nutrition’s Facebook Fan Page that says a little about me. In short, I study at McGill University in the hopes of one day becoming a dietitcian! Needless to say, I cannot contain my excitement for what’s in store for this blog and am so thankful for the opportunity! So this being my first post, I thought it’d be appropriate to work with blueberries.

Why?

Well firstly, the blueberry is Montreal Nutrition’s logo! (notice above). Second, they’re round and cute and versatile. Third, they’re full of antioxidants to help your body prevent disease.

After surfing the web and deciding against a dessert, I settled on this recipe.

Baked Salmon with Blueberry Sauce

  • 1/2 cup low sodium chicken stock
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon honey (I used a local blueberry honey)
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup low sodium chicken stock (to dissolve the cornstarch in and prevent lumpiness)
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh green onions (the original used chives but I didn’t have any, other options are scallions and red onion)
  • 4 (6 ounce) salmon steaks (preferably wild)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (extra virgin)
  • salt and pepper to taste (yum pepper, I hardly added any salt)
Local Blueberry honey I bought at the Farmer’s Market. Yummy on whole wheat pancakes in the morning!
Chopped up green onions (because I didn’t have any chives at home) and corn starch (used as a thickening agent for your blueberry sauce!).
A bird’s eye view of all the ingredients (from left to right): corn starch, orange juice, fresh blueberries, balsamic vinegar, tablespoon of honey, chopped up green onions, chicken stock and olive oil. And of course the star of the night, the salmon.
So what you do first, is you throw in (well, more like gently pour to be safe) the balsamic vinegar, orange juice and 1/2 cup of chicken stock and dissolve the honey into it. You want to bring it to a boil and let it reduce for a while so the vinegar doesn’t knock you out too early too finish your dinner. After it is brought to a boil, turn it onto medium heat and continue stirring.
So while your sauce is reducing, lay your salmon filets onto aluminum foil (I used a toaster oven because we were not that many people), lightly brush with extra virgin olive oil and sprinkle with a tiny bit of salt and pepper. What will really give you the taste is the sauce. I also added a bit of dried parsley for some color.
It’s ready to go into the oven at 350 degrees fahrenheit, for the thickness of the filets seen above, the salmon was done in 15 minutes. This will vary depending on how thick you want your “salmon steaks”. My advice is to check after 15 minutes and if it’s all pink in the center, it’s done! Remember, you want to keep it soft!
Well, once the salmon is in the oven, dissolve your cornstarch into 1/4 cup of chicken stock in a small bowl before pouring it into the sauce pan. This is important, or else you’ll have little powder pockets in your sauce. No fun. Remember to keep stirring or else the thicker parts of the sauce will fall to the bottom of the pan and clump and burn.
After the sauce is brought to a simmer (I’d say 3 minutes!), and the cornstarch has done its job (the sauce is slightly thickened), dump in the blueberries and green onions!
Stir, stir, stirrrr and let warm and sit (The blueberries should be soft but still have their shape). Turn off the heat after 5 minutes and let sit! Hopefully, by now, your salmon is almost ready so you don’t want your sauce to be flaming hot. 
Now you know the rest, top the sauce onto the salmon, sprinkle a dash of green onion for color. and VOILA!
Final product of yumminess. I’ll admit I was a little skeptical but it turned out surprisingly good. The sauce is playfully sweet and sour and it has blueberries!
Hope you enjoy!!! Let me know how it goes and any changes that you made or any tips you have for future posts!
I’m thinking veryberry crumb for dessert.
Yum! See you soon 🙂
D
5 thoughts on “The New Kid on the Blog – Blueberry Salmon

  1. hey diane.

    i like the pictures cuz i’d rather look at pictures than reading text. maybe next time you can make the pics a lil smaller (thumbnails). if you could fit all your pics on one page that’d be nice (rather than scrolling all the way through). Plus if you make the pics into thumbnails, your website will load faster :P.

    aight that’s all. hope to see you this summer.
    -josh

  2. Diane,
    I really want to try it now! It is different from anything I’ve had… I’m looking forward to it! going to get the ingredients tomorrow…tell you later how it turned out.
    –Debora

  3. Hey Diane!

    Loved all the pictures!! And I’m glad you found an innovative recipe to share- blueberries and salmon? I would have never thought to put those together. I might have to try that blueberry honey on whole grain toast sometime! It sounds really good!

    Look forward to more posts 🙂

    -Janet

Leave a Reply

