How Berry Nice – Verryberry Crumble

So I had all this leftover blueberries from the blueberry salmon that I figured I might as well make some crumble (one of my favorite desserts!). After searching an uncountable amount of keywords on Google, I could not find the recipe my friend had used a few days before, I settled for this one by Martha Stewart (what is going on with her these days anyways?), which had the same measurements from what I had remembered. I made a few tiny alterations, and it was deliciousssss (BOTH times!).

You’ll see that I omitted the crust part. Reasoning: Too much work, burns first, it’s not worth the calories, so just forget about it, really! πŸ™‚ See picture (which came from here, but watch out for language!)

SO, here we go!!

For the Crumble

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup firmly packed dark-brown sugar (dark brown? I used 1/2 cup of the normal brown one, which COULD be the dark-brown one) (I suggest using between 1/2 cup and 2/3 cup)
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces (one stick is a quarter of a giant bar we have here in Canada, so I used just a little under a quarter, which ends up probably being a little less than 1/2 cup) (I just googled it and one stick is exactly one cup!)

For the Filling

  • 3 pints blueberries and any other berries, I used raspberries, strawberries and blueberries, and I wish I had gotten blackberries too. (So, 3 pints is 6 cups) (AND 6 cups is WAY a lot, I’d say go for 5 cups, mine overflowed in the oven while the berries were boiling and well, thank my mother for putting aluminum foil at the bottom of the oven for easy cleanups) (Could also be the problem of the glassware I was using, but I mean, still)
  • 1 cup sugar (Since this is going into the filling, the fruits already have a lot of natural sweetness, so 1/4 cup is definitely enough, plus the crumble gives the sweetness to the sourness of the berries, so really, next time I might just omit this sugar entirely)
  • 4 teaspoons cornstarch (to gel up your filling, make sure it all dissolves into the juice of the berries)
  • 1/2 teaspoon finely chopped lemon zest (I. Love. Lemon. Zest – I put it in everything!! hehe)
  • Pinch of freshly ground pepper

So many berries!!! Didn’t even fit in my giant measuring cup.

The characters in this production of veryberry crumble. Starring 5 cup Berrymore, Corn Starchman, Zester Lemony, Pepper and Sugarhun (they’re the girls in the background that wink at you and you only know their first names). Speaking of hun, honey would be amazing in this mixture as well!

Combine and Mash. With a potato masher. (Or if you’re in college and well, who brings a potato masher to school, you can use a fork πŸ™‚ ). Dissolve corn starch into the juice. Keep most of the berries unmashed if you can so the filling is still chunky. However, try crushing all the strawberries, ‘cuz truth be told, they might ruin the party, we just want the taste, not the big mushiness of sour mush.

Then, you’re ready to pour it into a glass, oven-friendly, dish-thing!! What are these called anyways? I was so surprised it fit 6 cups of berries!! (until they overflowed :(… but only a little).

Cut up the butter into tiny pieces. I would suggest heating it in the microwave for a couple of seconds to get a bit of liquid so that the flour will clump up easier.

Whole wheat flour, cut up butter, and brown sugar, I also added some leftover lemon zest from the filling.

You know what to do! Combine.


Because the amount of butter we added was less than the recipe listed, you’ll notice that a lot of the flour doesn’t clump up. That’s okay, keep breaking down the butter until most of flour is used up. If you think it desperately needs more butter cause it’s too floury, go for it. Or add a bit of vegetable oil. I would try water too, but then, you’ll have to make sure that it remains crumble-like. And not, a giant piece of dough. Anyways… Clump the mixture in your hand so that it holds together for a mili-second, and break it over the berry mixture. That way, it’s crumbly, even without that much butter.

Sprinkle some rolled oats!

Ready for the oven!

Hot out of the oven!! Let it cool, or else it’ll ooze out like mine did. But if you don’t care, like I don’t, go ahead and dig in! Once it cools, the corn starch will really settle in and so when I take it out of the fridge these days, it’s pretty solid.

It was so good!! There’s something so grandma-like comforting about berry crumbles, isn’t there? (It’s weird that I think that cause my asian grandmothers would have never ever made crumbles… Hmm…) Well, Enjoy!! πŸ˜€ And make sure to let me know how it goes.

D the Intern.

2 thoughts on “How Berry Nice – Verryberry Crumble

  1. Oh Wow. This looks DELICIOUS. I Know what I’m making this weekend. Of course I won’t be taking any pictures of mine. Lol. Mine won’t look quite that good. Thanks for sharing this. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

