Quick Broccoli Cheese Sandwich

Hi all! I’m in Cleveland, Ohio right now and I have no mother to cook the meals I don’t cook for myself so today, after running some errands with my friend Amy (who works at Starbucks and who you will hear more about in another post), I was starving and decided to make myself a sandwich. Quick, easy, sandwich.

I had two today.

One with tomato and leftover steak I made yesterday. And this one, with the broccoli.

All you have to do is cut up more broccoli than you think you’d need. The flavor of broccoli is pretty mild if you don’t have a lot of it. So I’d say you should dice up enough greens to be able to very easily cover both sides of the toast (multigrain rye!?). Sautee the broccoli with a bit of garlic and pepper using vegetable oil and add some water so that the broccoli can cook faster after it has absorbed the oil. Once the veggies be done (still crunchy), put it aside.

Then I grilled my bread with swiss cheese in the pan. Once the cheese melted, I carefully laid out the broccoli and pressed the sandwich with the spatula to make sure the broccoli are sticking to the cheese!

It was so good! I recommend omitting the garlic if you don’t like it. Replace with some fresh herbs, maybe also cut some asparagus and mix it up. Hope you like it!

– D the Intern

🙂

Leave a Reply

