Easy & Fast Delicious Zucchini Enchiladas

Yes, zucchinis. Again.

And I didn’t even like zucchini’s 3 months ago. I realized that if you shred it, the texture isn’t really that bad! And it tastes pretty good! My mom just made zucchini dumplings from scratch and they’re also very good.

Moving on, a few days ago, I was on Pinterest and saw a recipe for zucchini enchiladas. As a high schooler, I used to love cafeteria enchiladas. My girlfriends and I always got excited when we saw the menu while standing in that narrow line that led to the doors of the kitchen.

Cheesy Zucchini Enchiladas
Adapted from skinnytaste.com

Gina’s Weight Watcher Recipes
Servings: 4 • Serving Size: 1 large enchilada (it’s pretty filling, you’d be surprised)
Calories: 258.7 • Fat: 13.5 g • Protein: 22 g • Carb: 30.2 g • Fiber: 16.9 g 

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 medium scallions, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 2 medium zucchinis (I used part of my giant one), grated (not peeled!)
  • fresh ground pepper (I took out the salt here too because it barely makes a difference with the cheese there)
  • 1 1/2 cups grated cheese (I used cheddar, the original recipe called for mexican blend)
  • 4 large tortillas (I used a bunch of small ones and one small one was actually enough for me)
  • chopped scallions (optional but come on.)
  • chopped cilantro (optional but come on. it’s cilantro, baby)

Enchilada sauce:

  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tbsp chipotle chilis(optional for more heat) (I skipped because my mom doesn’t take spicy very well)
  • 1 cup tomato sauce (looked for sauce in jars! If you have paste, you can use that too and water it down and use whatever herbs and spices you see fit)
  • 1/4 tsp chipotle chili powder (to taste)
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp dry basil or oregano
  • 1/2 cup vegetable or chicken broth
  • pepper to taste (I omit the salt completely because the tomato sauce/paste usually has a considerable amount – remember try looking at the nutritional info on the side of the cans, sometimes off-brand labels put much less salt in their product!)

For the enchilada sauce: in a medium saucepan, add oil and sauté garlic. Add chili powder, cumin, broth, tomato sauce and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 5-10 minutes. Set aside until ready to use.

Spray a baking dish with nonstick spray. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Saute the ingredients together, adding the zucchini last after the garlic and scallions have browned and you can smell it! Add the cheese only once you’ve taken the pan off the heat after sauteing the zucchini for a few minutes, this way, the cheese won’t burn and will only melt with the zucchini. Pat a little onto the tortilla, wrap it, sauce it, grate some more cheese and bake it for 15 to 20 minutes until the cheese has melted. Serve with cilantro and scallions!

Enjoy! It’s surprisingly reallyyyy tasty! My mom liked it so much, I made a second batch the next day!

– D the Intern
Leave a Reply

